Skip to main content

Teams

Common Collection Committee

Committee Meeting Documents (login required)

Charge (Approved by PASCAL Board on 1/13/2015)

The PASCAL Common Collection Committee provides oversight of, and recommendations for, PASCAL common collection planning, programs, practices, strategies, and assessment.  The range of responsibilities includes, but is not limited to the following:

  • Investigates, recommends, and reviews strategic collaborative collection development activities and initiatives for PASCAL member libraries
  • Investigates, recommends, and reviews strategic collaborative collection management activities and initiatives for PASCAL member libraries
  • Contributes to the strategic planning and oversight of PASCAL collaborative collection initiatives in close consultation with PASCAL staff and the Program Committee as well as other relevant committees and task forces
  • Contributes to evaluating projects, programs, and practices centered around collaborative collection efforts for PASCAL member libraries
  • As necessary, provides liaisons and maintains close communication with committees and task forces charged with oversight of other programs that require input from the Common Collection Committee or whose activities might affect collaborative collection activities and initiatives.

The committee will work with PASCAL staff to accomplish its mission and will report regularly to the Program Committee. It will make periodic reports to the membership and board.

The Common Collection Task Force completed its work in June 2013 after six months and several committee meetings, conducting a survey of member definitions of common collections, and making several recommendations to the PASCAL board in their final report dated May 8, 2013.  The board took up one CCTF recommendation and approved a standing committee, the new Common Collection Committee, in December 2014.  The charge was approved and the roster of new committee members was set for their first meeting on March 18, 2015.

The committee is charged with recommending collection management and collection development initiatives for the consortium for both prospective state-wide acquisitions and retrospective legacy print management.  This will require close work with all other standing committees and task forces.

Committee Members

Name Institution Email Term
Derek Wilmott (Chair) Clemson University rwilmot@clemson.edu 06/17-06/19
Karen Brown (Chair-Elect) University of South Carolina kwbrown@mailbox.sc.edu 07/18-06/20
Lori Hetrick Spartanburg Methodist College HetrickL@smcsc.edu 06/17-07/19
Katie Miller Aiken Technical College millerku@atc.edu 06/17-07/19
Mark Collier Converse College mark.collier@converse.edu 07/18-06/19
Som Linthicum Tri-County Technical College slinthic@tctc.edu 07/18-06/20
Morgan Montgomery Claflin University momontgomery@claflin.edu 07/18-06/20
Stacie Powell Southern Wesleyan University spowell@swu.edu 07/18-06/20
Barbara Scala Spartanburg Community College scalab@sccsc.edu 07/18-06/20
Amy Trepal PASCAL atrepal@pascalsc.org Staff Ex Officio
Mary Daubenspeck SCILS Daubenspeckm@sccsc.edu Ex Officio (voting)
Caroline Mills Furman University caroline.mills1689@furman.edu PSC Liaison
Nell Bradley Florence Darlington Technical College jeronell.bradley@fdtc.edu PSC Liaison for Shared Storage
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries