At their April 16th meeting, the PASCAL Board of Directors approved changes to PASCAL’s Affordable Learning Task Force and the Common Collection Committee based on recommendations from the Program Steering Committee.
The Affordable Learning Task Force, launched in 2017, will become a standing committee. The charge for the task force was for a three-year term to assess the state of affordable learning programs at member institutions and expand awareness of affordable learning principles, practices and opportunities through training and professional development. Over the last three years the task force has worked to expand the knowledge of librarians and faculty at PASCAL member institutions and it continues to do so. Amy Trepal, PASCAL Shared Content & Licensing Librarian and staff liaison to the task force, said “The work the task force has completed has been beneficial to all PASCAL members and has shown a need for their work to continue. Changing it to a standing committee shows the commitment that PASCAL has to help make education affordable for students in South Carolina.” For more information, please visit the Affordable Learning Committee page.
The Common Collection Committee, formed in 2015, will be split into two standing committees; the Collaborative Collection Committee and E-Book Collection Committee. The change was recommended because these two areas of interest have grown significantly for PASCAL since 2015 and they now require too much work for one committee to handle. The Common Collection Committee has been operating with two sub-groups to focus on these areas but more members and a formal committee structure for each were needed. Information and the charges for the two new committees can be found on the Collaborative Collection Committee and E-Book Collection Committee pages. Amy Trepal, PASCAL staff liaison to the CCC, stated “with the new shared library system we will be able to collaborate more on collection development for both print and e-books. Having separate committees will enhance our ability to move forward with both at the same time.”
The newly formed standing committees will become active on July 1, 2020. Additional members for the three new committees, as well as the Consortial Purchasing Committee, will be recruited through a call for volunteers later this month. Questions about the committees should be directed to Amy Trepal.
0 Comments.