Skip to main content

More Programs

About the Statewide Shared Storage & Collections Project

PASCAL, in collaboration with the University of South Carolina Libraries, received a Scholarly Communications grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to conduct a 12-month planning project for the creation of a statewide repository for shared print, manuscript and film materials, as well as other formats.  In addition, the grant will support the development of a plan for the management of shared services among the 56 member libraries.

This initiative would enhance teaching and research by building an accessible regional collection that is more robust than individual institutions can develop or sustain. It would preserve this collection by providing a climate-controlled, state-of-the art storage environment. Also, it would provide the opportunity to explore improved access to print collections for students across the state through centralized scan and deliver or other digitization services. The collection would be shared by adding the unified catalog to global searchable databases like OCLC WorldCat and the Center for Research Libraries Print Archives and Preservation Registry.

The timing of this effort is significant, since PASCAL’s shared library service platform will bring member libraries into a unified catalog which will serve as a foundation for shared management of common collections and modernize rapid delivery capabilities for both print and electronic media. Once the new unified catalog is completed over the next 12-18 months, PASCAL can build on the momentum and begin physically unifying materials from participating academic libraries in a shared repository that provides shared oversight and services, reducing costs and freeing up valuable space in member libraries for other purposes.

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries