Skip to main content

More Programs

Shared Storage Facility Visits

As part of the planning grant, members of the Planning Committee will visit existing shared storage facilities to learn best practices regarding their collection policies, governing and funding structures, and implementation process. The sites were selected based on similarity to the shared storage facility that is being considered.

Site visits will include:

  • Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) Shared Collections Facility  |  Learn more
  • Southwest Ohio Regional Depository (SWORD)  |  Learn more
  • Library Service Center - Georgia Tech Library and Emory University Libraries

Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) Shared Collections Facility

About the WRLC Shared Collections Facility


Date: Thursday, November 29, 2018

Planning Team Participants:

  • Ben Walker, Planning grant consultant & Associate Dean, University of Florida Libraries
  • Amy Trepal, Shared Content & Licensing Librarian, PASCAL
  • Nelson Rivera, Library Annex Manager, University of South Carolina Libraries
  • Beki Gettys, Associate Dean, University of South Carolina Libraries
  • Derek Wilmot, Collection Management & Acquisitions, Clemson University Libraries
  • Stacie Powell, Research and Instruction Librarian, Southern Wesleyan University

 

Agenda

8:30 – 10:00

Meet with WRLC staff, Overview of shared collections facility

 

Mark Jacobs, Executive Director; Bruce Hulse, Director of Information Services; and Tammy Hennig, Shared Collections Supervisor

10:00 – 11:30

Tour of facility

11:30 – 12:30

Lunch with additional WRLC staff involved in Alma migration

 

Don Gourley, Information Technology and Tim Connolly, Finance and Administration

12:30 – 2:00

Skype with participating institutions via GoToMeeting

 

  • Barbra Giorgini. Associate Dean, GW Libraries & Academic Innovation
  • Gwendolyn Reece. Director - Research, Teaching and Learning, American University Library
  • Robert Kelshian. Director of Access Services, American University Library
  • Stephen Connaghan. University Librarian, The Catholic University of America

Southwest Ohio Regional Depository (SWORD)

About the Southwest Ohio Regional Depository


Date: Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Planning Team Participants:

  • Ben Walker, Planning grant consultant & Associate Dean, University of Florida Libraries
  • Amy Trepal, Shared Content & Licensing Librarian, PASCAL
  • Nelson Rivera, Library Annex Manager, University of South Carolina Libraries
  • Beki Gettys, Associate Dean, University of South Carolina Libraries
  • Derek Wilmot, Collection Management & Acquisitions, Clemson University Libraries
  • Lori Hetrick, Head Librarian, Spartanburg Methodist College

 

Agenda

9:00

Arrive SWORD, Introductions

9:15 – 10:30

Depository history, evolution, etc. Discussion guided by Questions for Administration
Belinda Barr, Administration, and Pam Lipscomb, SWORD manager

10:30 – 11:30  

Facility: Discussion guided by Questions for the Facility Manager
Tour of the facility

11:30 – 12:30

Lunch

12:30 – 1:30

Partner Institutions: Discussion guided by questions for Member/Partner Institutions
Skype/Google Hangout with Dan Gottlieb, University of Cincinnati Libraries, Associate Dean Collections & Scholarly Resources and Karen Wilhoit, Wright State University Library, Associate University Librarian for Collections

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries