Skip to main content

More Programs

Statewide Shared Storage & Collection Project Team

Ben Walker is serving as the consultant for the project. Mr. Walker is the Associate Dean for Discovery, Digital Services & Shared Storage at the University of Florida and has experience in statewide shared collection and repositories through his work with the FLorida Academic REpository (FLARE). 

PASCAL’s Common Collection Committee (CCC) has been heavily involved in the project since the outset of the grant award. Members of the CCC Shared Storage Working Group have worked closely with the project consultant to plan for all aspects of the design of a shared print storage program. Tasks include a needs assessment, collection assessment, and planning for the management of the collection and services. In addition to their planning activities, the Common Collection Committee hosted three regional meetings designed to foster discussion on best practices for collaborative collection management and repurposing of reclaimed space. The meetings featured presentations and open discussions with Ben Walker and other noted experts and practitioners. The working group will also visit existing shared storage facilities to learn best practices regarding their collection policies, governing and funding structures, and implementation process.

Members of the CCC Shared Storage Working Group, along with the project consultant, PASCAL staff, and representatives from University of South Carolina Libraries make up the grant’s planning committee:

  • Ben Walker, Project Consultant, University of Florida
  • Derek Wilmott, Clemson University
  • Lori Hetrick, Spartanburg Methodist College
  • Stacie Powell, Southern Wesleyan University
  • Mark Collier, Converse College
  • Amy Trepal, PASCAL
  • Beki Gettys- Associate Dean for Libraries, University of South Carolina Libraries
  • Miranda Bennett- Associate Dean for Collections, University of South Carolina Libraries
  • Nelson Rivera- Library Annex Manager, University of South Carolina Libraries
  • Hope Derrick- Assistant to the Dean, University of South Carolina Libraries
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries