Skip to main content


Affordable Learning Committee

Committee Documents (login required)


The Affordable Learning Committee will expand awareness of affordable learning principles, practices and opportunities through training and professional development for current member libraries. It will investigate modalities for expanding affordable learning initiatives in the state through pilot and/or demonstration projects it identifies as promising. Examples of programming include:

  • Providing training and professional development for PASCAL member librarians
  • Supporting PASCAL member libraries in planning and implementation of local affordable learning programming
  • Developing programs to engage faculty at PASCAL institutions in affordable learning
  • Funding and assessing award-based projects

The Committee will report to the Program Steering Committee and will coordinate with other PASCAL standing committees as appropriate, particularly in the exploration of opportunities to utilize current or future shared resources to support affordable learning. 






April Akins (Chair)

Lander University

07/2020- 06/2021

Burton Callicot

College of Charleston


Joe Fox

Charleston Southern University


Andrew Kearns

USC Upstate


Tamara Law

Francis Marion University


Katie Miller

Aiken Technical College

07/2020- 06/2021

Ron Stafford

Northeastern Technical College


Tucker Taylor

University of South Carolina

07/2020- 06/2021

Yang Wu

Clemson University

07/2020- 06/2021

Amie Freeman (Past Chair)

University of South Carolina

07/2020- 06/2021

Amy Trepal


Staff Ex Officio

Kent Millwood

Anderson University

PSC Liaison

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries