Skip to main content

News & Events

PASCAL Calendar, News, and Announcements

COVID-19 Resources for Libraries & Online Learning

As the PASCAL community responds to COVID-19 and moves to remote learning and library services, we are compiling resources that may be helpful to you and your faculty.  If you have any questions regarding online resources available through PASCAL, or if you have suggestions for resources to be added to this list, please contact Amy Trepal or Ellan Jenkinson.
 

Resources on Reopening and Safe Handling of Materials:


Guidelines for Libraries Considering Curbside Service and/or Phased Reopening May 2020  - Guide created by RAILS (Reaching Across Illinois Library System): www.railslibraries.info/sites/default/files/Curbside%20Delivery%20and%20Reopening%20-%20May.pdf

Handling Library Materials and Collections During a Pandemic - Resources compiled by ALCTS: http://www.ala.org/alcts/preservationweek/resources/pandemic

LOUIS Phased Reopening Guide for Libraries – from The Louisiana Library Network (LOUIS): https://louislibraries.org/ld.php?content_id=54750844

Pandemic Resources for Academic Libraries: Preparing to Reopen  - Guide from ACRL: https://acrl.libguides.com/pandemic/repoening

Reopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums (REALM) Project page  - COVID-19 Research Project by OCLC, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and Battelle: https://www.webjunction.org/explore-topics/COVID-19-research-project.html

Returning to Service: Libraries and COVID-19 - Guide created by the Colorado Library Consortium (CLiC): https://www.clicweb.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/Libraries-Returning-to-Service-and-COVID-19.pd
 

Resources for Remote Teaching & Library Services


Resources on Copyright & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research: https://tinyurl.com/v6dvmcb

Virtual Copyright Office Hours: https://tinyurl.com/wf9gzu6

Vendor COVID-19 Related Donations and Pro Bono Access: https://tinyurl.com/vendorsupportedaccess

SCALE guide to general Open Educational Resources (OER) collections and subject specific OERs: https://pascalsc.libguides.com/c.php?g=842021&p=6039381

National Emergency Library: https://archive.org/details/nationalemergencylibrary
Internet Archive is providing access to the 1.4 million books in their lending library through June 30th or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.

Crowdsourced OA Resources: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1uU_sDO1Q8WrYbmEe62vaX243fi2gBPo3hWAQx0PCbv0/edit#gid=0

Open access eBooks from the Library of Congress: https://www.loc.gov/search/?fa=partof:open+access+books 

Online Collection of Teaching Resources: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1sVI7O3FrFzQFyeiYUQzsGvJWnWMxPY-NedI1kio_OpY/edit#gid=499998950

VideoLib's Special Streaming Offers during Covid19 Cheat Sheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1A2bJoWFHLj_ZVS2Dh1LC40uUupMsl7C99M8c7NvEY8g/edit#gid=0

Free Science Resources for Labs: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yeje0OSaKxYLe3n4yf4MR-VaUHBcadwVOFRMX9EsLtE/edit#gid=0

Online Resources for Science Laboratories (POD) - Remote Teaching: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/18iVSIeOqKjj58xcR8dYJS5rYvzZ4X1UGLWhl3brRzCM/edit#gid=0

Springshare: Tips & Tricks for Remote Learning & Services -  https://blog.springshare.com/2020/03/16/tips-tricks-for-the-remote-first-world/

Higher Ed Support & Guidance During COVID-19: Teaching, Learning & Student Support: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Zea87K6PbK8e-tLDERzgsnn2-NkUqiEuay7JiMh9EQ0/edit#heading=h.788il6r0zf5x

ICOLC Statement on the Global COVID-19 Pandemic and Its Impact on Library Services and Resources: https://icolc.net/statement/statement-global-covid-19-pandemic-and-its-impact-library-services-and-resources

ICOLC COVID19 Complimentary Expanded Access: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1xiINlF9P00tO-5lGKi3v4S413iujYCm5QJoKUG19a_Y/

Pandemic Resources for Academic Libraries (ACRL): https://acrl.libguides.com/pandemic/home

Free Webinars and Trainings for Academic Library Workers: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1jJt1qoNqe_XteGFvzK2vq_fzutTAP8XCjESH8pHmFxE/edit#

Free Online Resources (compiled by Leslie Brown, North Greenville University): https://docs.google.com/document/d/1TccGoEcj5dazUL30L3NHmG8KTukkoGrfJgHcFkW4RnI/edit#

Library of Congress Open Access Books: https://www.loc.gov/search/?fa=partof:open+access+books

Virtual Labs and Science Resources: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Mv0EyCw2QeFIpW5P5qNR5EWdcM4pPpLPRnBDHMfaxgQ/edit

Vendor Offers for Temporary Access in Response to COVID-19 

Several vendors have reached out to PASCAL and other customers to offer temporary access to online resources in response to the COVID-19 crises. Below is information we've received on how to access these resources.


SAGE Publishing

SAGE would like to provide 90-day access to our digital resources by IP authentication. (Unfortunately, we can’t legally drop the paywall altogether due to contracts with license partners and doing so would jeopardize usage analytics for customers in need of ROI reporting.  However, we want to make things as simple for you as possible.)

  • For access to SAGE VideoSAGE Research Methods Video and SAGE Knowledge Books & Reference (DRM FREE) please fill out this form to receive institution-wide access. We will do our best to turn on access within 24 hours, but due to demand it may take longer.  

Our commitment to you is that these requests will not be treated as sales opportunities, and the only follow-up you will receive from us will be to make sure you have everything you need to make these resources work for your campus. For the immediate future, SAGE will be pausing additional email outreach and contacting you only when we have resources that directly support your library, faculty and students.

Here are some additional resources and actions that may be of interest to you:

  • We will fast track and publish open access, without any article publishing charges, accepted research articles from your faculty that are relevant to the current pandemic.  

 

EBSCO/Harvard Business Publishing

EBSCO and Harvard Business Publishing Offer Libraries Free Unlimited User (UU) Access to Business E-Book Subscription Collection

As universities shift quickly to online instruction, librarians have a key role to play in supporting faculty and students. In order to help in these challenging times, EBSCO and Harvard Business Publishing are pleased to offer libraries free unlimited user access to the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection until May 30, 2020.
 
This ground-breaking collection contains the complete catalog of Harvard Business Review e-books.  With over 600 e-books that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, seminal works, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series, faculty will be available to quickly provide relevant digital materials for their students.
 
Gain immediate access for your students and faculty today by contacting your local EBSCO representative.

Request Access: https://more.ebsco.com/Free-Access-to-HBR.html?utm_medium=email&utm_source=a_cp_ww&utm_campaign=acad_covid-19-hbr_20200324&utm_content=cta-button

 

Infobase Academic Virtual Classroom

Infobase is offering free trial access to the following databases through 4/30/20

Academic Virtual Classroom:

User Name: distancelearning                    Password:  trial

All Available Products
http://online.infobaselearning.com/Direct.aspx?aid=280528&pid=WE00

 

MIT Press

MIT Press is offering libraries complimentary access to the MIT Press Direct collection of eBooks through the end of May 2020 to support faculty and students who are working and learning remotely.

To receive free access to more than 2,770 MIT Press eBooks via MIT Press Direct, librarians may complete this webform or reach out to Emily Farrell (efarre@mit.edu, North America) or Jessica Lawrence-Hurt (jclh@mit.edu, rest of world).

In addition, we are partnering with ProQuest and EBSCO to allow multi-user access through mid-June to our eBooks purchased on their platforms. We are also working with Project MUSE and University Press Scholarship Online to expand access to backlist eBooks available on their platforms.

We are gracing access for existing subscribers to content hosted on our journals, CogNet, and MIT Press Direct platforms through May 31, 2020.

Finally, we have gone through our journal backfile to select relevant articles from our collection that speak to issues related to pandemics, epidemiology, and other related topics. A list of freely available articles is being maintained and regularly updated on our blog.

 

Elseiver

Options for setting up Remote Access to ScienceDirect:  Please see attached instructions and guidelines for remote access

Novel Coronavirus Information Center: Elsevier’s free health and medical research on novel coronavirus (COVID-19)

https://www.elsevier.com/connect/coronavirus-information-center

Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information Center for nursing and healthcare educators: https://evolve.elsevier.com/education/educational-trends/coronavirus-resources/?utm_source=social&utm_medium=linkedin&utm_campaign=coronavirus

Textbooks

 ScienceDirect Textbooks: The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.  Access the title list here (expected to be updated by end of day Wednesday, March 18).

 VitalSource and Elsevier Partner to Provide ebook Access to Students

To assist students at disrupted semester-calendar schools who are losing access to course materials due to COVID-19 campus closures, VitalSource has been joined by publishers and partners to offer free access to ebooks to students whose classes have moved online from March 16 through May 25, 2020. Students will be able to access the expansive catalog of ebooks from participating publishers through the VitalSource Bookshelf app effective immediately.

Elsevier Participates in ‘RedShelf Responds’ COVID-19 Initiative
Under the label of ‘RedShelf Responds’, RedShelf is collaborating with its publishing partners to offer free access to ebooks for the remainder of the semester for currently enrolled students impacted by recent campus closings. Semester-calendar schools of authorized programs will be allowed free access to ebooks from March 16 through May 25, 2020.

ProQuest and EBSCO Access

ProQuest Ebook Central and EBSCOHost customers impacted by COVID-19 will get automatic upgrades to unlimited concurrent access (from single user or 3U) to all owned Elsevier titles through mid-June.

In response to the ICOLC Statement (this is rapidly evolving, more to come)

Making any relevant content and data sets about COVID-19, Coronaviruses (regardless of species affected), vaccines, antiviral drugs, etc. currently behind subscription-only paywalls Open Access immediately to facilitate research, guide community public health response, and accelerate the discovery of treatment options.

Allowing the maximum extent of copyright limitations, exception and fair use, even if contractually restricted, to enable institutions to continue their vital teaching missions as campuses transition to an online, remote format.

  • There are special terms of use for the coronavirus articles for PubMed Central.
  • ScienceDirect is an unlimited access platform, there is no restriction on concurrent usage.
  • For Elsevier content on ProQuest Ebook Central and EBSCO host access restrictions have been temporarily lifted to allow for unlimited concurrent usage.

 

Cambridge University Press

To better support remote learning during these unprecedented times, Cambridge University Press is offering free access to university libraries and their associated students and faculty – the collection features our HTML textbooks, as well as Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements, all told over 2,000 ebooks. This institutional free access offer will be available until the end of May 2020.

Please note that if your institution had previously set up access to our free reference collection, then your access should have automatically been updated to include HTML textbooks. Your patrons will need to go through your library’s normal authentication process to be able to use the included materials.

To request access on behalf of your institution, or if you have any questions, university librarians in the Americas should contact us at online@cambridge.org.

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries