Skip to Main Content

Shared LSP

Shared LSP - Public

Providing Critical Infrastructure for Discovery and Access

PASCAL provides mission-critical technology resources for fifty-five member libraries, including:

 

  • Shared library services platform that allows libraries to manage physical and electronic collections with functions including circulation, cataloging, acquisitions, serials control, course reserves, and analytics (Ex Libris Alma)
     
  • Discovery interface providing a simple, single search box (Ex Libris Primo)
     
  • Shared union catalog of the holdings of all PASCAL Connects libraries
     
  • Resource sharing functionality for consortial borrowing of print items and a developing service providing digital access to print and electronic resources held in academic library collections around South Carolina
     

In 2020, fifty-five PASCAL libraries successfully migrated to a shared library services platform, replacing a variety of older systems with the Ex Libris Alma system and Primo VE discovery solution. The shared platform provides participating libraries with an online discovery interface for their own collections and a shared union catalog of the holdings of all PASCAL Connects libraries. The shared Alma and Primo VE platform supports resource sharing among participating libraries as well as library collection management functions including circulation, cataloging, acquisitions, serials control, course reserves and analytics. This statewide, next generation platform expands collaborative efforts among PASCAL libraries and supports key elements of PASCAL’s strategic agenda.

Funding for PASCAL Connects has been provided by the South Carolina General Assembly and member libraries. The shared platform provides cost savings for PASCAL and all member libraries.

Technology Support

PASCAL staff support all institutions in the use of the systems. Given the variation in the institutions and level of in-house expertise, PASCAL developed a tiered support structure. PASCAL provides full systems support for fifteen member libraries and moderate to limited support for an additional twenty-four member libraries. Fourteen libraries primarily manage their own systems, with PASCAL staff providing consultation as needed.

OpenAthens Single Sign-On Solution

Seamless, secure access to academic resources both on and off campus.

OpenAthens is an authentication and access management platform that enables seamless, secure access to library databases and resources anytime, anywhere via single sign-on (SSO). PASCAL procured OpenAthens for member libraries on an opt-in basis in order to establish single sign-on service for Alma, Primo VE, and electronic resources. Forty-six PASCAL member libraries have implemented OpenAthens with support from PASCAL staff.

1122 Lady Street, Suite 400 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2022 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries