Skip to main content

Teams

Consortial Purchasing Committee

Committee Meeting Documents (login required)

The Consortial Purchasing Committee has been responsible for advising and coordinating content purchases since 2001, for both purchases using state funds and institutional (opt-in) funds.  See the Electronic Resources page for more information on core and  opt-in e-resources.

Charge (Approved by PASCAL Board of Directors, May 26, 2015)

The PASCAL Consortial Purchasing Committee provides oversight of, and recommendations for, content most appropriate for acquisition.  The range of responsibilities includes, but is not limited to the following:

  •  Evaluating and recommending resources for consortium-wide purchasing/licensing through all funding sources, including (but not limited to) recurring funds and unclaimed lottery funds allocated through the General Assembly as well as membership dues/fees
  • Determining appropriate “opt-in” deals that may be presented to members on a regular basis, regularly reviewing such offers, and establishing frameworks that determine appropriate offers
  • Participating in the negotiation of licenses for content resources
  • Regularly surveying the membership to determine information needs
  • Evaluating acquired content resources
  • As necessary, providing liaisons and maintaining close communication with committees and task forces charged with oversight of other programs that require input from the Consortial Purchasing Committee or whose activities might affect collaborative collection activities and initiatives

The committee will work with PASCAL staff to accomplish its mission and will report regularly to the Program Committee.  It will make periodic reports to the membership and board.

Committee Members

Name Institution Email Term
Sharon Verba (Chair) University of South Carolina sharonv@mailbox.sc.edu 11/17-06/19
Denise Robinson (Chair-Elect) Central Carolina Technical College robinsondk@cctech.edu 07/18-06/19
Kirstin Steele (Past- Chair) The Citadel steelek1@citadel.edu 07/17-06/19
Jean Gudenas MUSC gudenas@musc.edu 07/17-06/19
Allison Jones College of Charleston jonesak@cofc.edu 02/18-06/19
Leslie Brown North Greenville University lbrown@ngu.edu 07/18-06/20
April Grey Wofford College Greyae@wofford.edu 07/18-06/20
Wanda Priester South Carolina State University wpriest3@scsu.edu 07/18-06/20
Brad Whitehead Midlands Technical College whiteheadb@midlandstech.edu 07/18-06/20
Amy Trepal PASCAL atrepal@pascalsc.org Staff Ex Officio
Caroline Mills Furman University caroline.mills1689@furman.edu PSC Liaison
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries