These links will take you directly to the portions of databases that contain materials relevant to Health Sciences. However, this is by no means an exhaustive list. Feel free to explore the General Collections to find additional resources.
Published by OpenStax, in partnership with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB), the OER Nursing Essentials (O.N.E.) series provides eight peer-reviewed nursing textbooks. The series includes “Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing,” “Population Health for Nurses,” “Nutrition for Nurses,” “Pharmacology for Nurses,” “Clinical Nursing Skills,” “Fundamentals of Nursing,” “Maternal-Newborn Nursing” and “Medical-Surgical Nursing” (preview currently available for the “Medical-Surgical Nursing” textbook with full volume available in early October).
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Bookshelf, the books division of the NLM Literature Archive (LitArch) at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), is an online searchable collection of books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, and the life sciences.
This website features academic content created by the University of Michigan community that you can use in your own research, teaching or learning experiences.
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.
Developed as a joint collaboration between professors from Ryerson University, Centennial College, and George Brown College, the Virtual Healthcare Experience portal provides healthcare students and professionals with an experiential learning opportunity for practicing client care in a safe virtual environment.
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.
