PASCAL LibGuides: Teams: Teams

Call for Volunteers - April 2025

PASCAL is currently seeking volunteers to serve on all standing committees and working groups for a two year term beginning July 1, 2025.

To be considered, please complete the Volunteer Form by 5pm on Friday, May 2, 2025.

Faculty and staff at all PASCAL member libraries, with all levels of experience, are encouraged to apply. Committee & Working Group members serve a two-year renewable term with a limit of two successive terms.

Serving on a PASCAL team involves a commitment of time and effort. Individuals considering committee service should consult with their supervisors and seek their approval before volunteering.

If selected to serve, volunteers, their direct supervisor, and the library dean/director will be notified via email no later than June 6, 2025.

Please Note: In March 2025, the PASCAL Board of Directors appointed an Ad Hoc Committee to review and make recommendations on restructuring PASCAL’s existing Teams (Standing Committees, Working Groups, Task Forces, etc.). Recommendations made by the Ad Hoc Committee could potentially impact members who are serving on Teams in FY 25-26 and beyond.

Teams & Committees

PASCAL libraries collaborate on key issues through the work of multiple teams including standing committees, task forces and working groups. These teams are vital to the work of our consortium. Teams are made up of faculty and staff at PASCAL member libraries who contribute their time and expertise. A PASCAL staff member typically serves ex officio to help facilitate the work of our teams. Per our committee guidelines, PASCAL seeks to include representatives from all types of member institutions --public colleges, research universities, technical colleges and private colleges and universities - on all teams.

Standing Committees

Affordable Learning Committee - Provides support for affordable learning initiatives in the state; expands awareness of affordable learning principles, practices and opportunities through training and professional development.
Collaborative Collection Committee – Provides oversight of, and recommendations for, PASCAL collaborative collection planning, programs, practices, strategies, and assessment.
Consortial Purchasing Committee (CPC) – The CPC has been responsible for advising and coordinating content purchases since 2001, for both purchases using state funds and institutional (opt-in) funds. They provide oversight of, and recommendations for, content most appropriate for acquisition.
E-book Collection Committee - Responsible for coordination, implementation, and evaluation of the PASCAL shared e-book program.
Engagement and Innovation Committee - Supports PASCAL Libraries in creating of meaningful connections with the communities they serve through broad and accessible programming and resources.

Shared Library Services Platform (SLSP) Teams:

Shared LSP Steering Committee
Implementation & Management Team
Access & Resource Sharing Working Group
Cataloging and Metadata Working Group
E-Resources & Acquisitions Working Group
Discovery, Reference, & User Experience Working Group
Systems Working Group
Training Working Group

Task Forces & Working Groups:

Impact & Advocacy Task Force (September 2024 - September 2025)

Past Standing Committees and Task Forces:

Affordable Learning Task Force (changed to a standing committee effective July 2020)
Catalog Design Committee
Common Collection Committee (split into into two standing committees; the Collaborative Collection Committee and E-Book Collection Committee effective July 2020)
Universal Borrowing Committee
Document Review Task Force
Engaging Stakeholders Working Group
Non-Returnables Task Force (January 2022)
Shared Collections & Print Management Task Force

Past SLSP teams:

Collaborative Governance Task Force
Library Services Platform Leadership Team
RFP Working Group
E-Resources & Knowledgebase Management Working Group