Skip to main content

Shared LSP

Shared LSP - Public

Library Representatives

Directory of Library Representatives for PASCAL Member Libraries

 

Designation of Library Representatives

Each PASCAL member library will have one Library Representative who will serve as a liaison between their local institution and PASCAL’s collaborative management of the shared library services platform (SLSP). Initially, the Library Representative will be the library’s dean or director. The dean/director may choose to appoint a member of their staff to serve in the Representative role, or may remain the Library Representative. Dean/directors may also designate a ‘backup’ for their Library Representative. This is optional and at the discretion of the library dean or director.

Role & Responsibilities of Library Representatives

 

Overview

Each PASCAL member library will have one Library Representative who will serve as a liaison between their local institution and PASCAL’s collaborative management of the shared library services platform (SLSP).

Structure and Roles

Initially, the Library Representative will be the library’s dean or director. The dean/director may designate another person to serve in this role by completing the appropriate online form.

The Representative will serve to:

  • Guarantee there is a single point of contact at each PASCAL member library.
  • Distribute information between their library and the SLSP collaborative management architecture.
  • Ensure that each library has at least one person to facilitate discussions of local concerns and to inform appropriate SLSP collaborative management groups or PASCAL staff, as necessary. 
  • Represent their library in decision-making regarding new policies, procedures, and workflows created by the SLSP Working Groups.

Participation

Initially, the Library Representative will be the library’s dean or director. The dean/director may choose to appoint a member of their staff to serve in the Representative role, or may remain the Library Representative.

A successful Library Representative should have the following characteristics:

  • Familiarity with the expertise of local area experts in their library and at their institution.
  • A certain level of authority within their library to request and receive information in a timely manner.
  • Excellent communication skills.
  • Comfortable with technology.

During leaves of absence, the Library Representative will designate an alternative Representative to serve in the role. The Library Representative must ensure the alternate Representative is fully prepared to carry out all applicable responsibilities when the Library Representative is unavailable.

It is recommended that the Library Representative serve in this role for a minimum of 2 years. However, the length of time a Representative will serve is ultimately determined by the dean/director of the respective PASCAL member library.

Whenever possible, Library Representative meetings and training will be held virtually or regionally to minimize travel commitments and expenses. However, some travel may be required.

The work of the Library Representative should be adjusted by their institution so that consortial work is not treated as “extra”, “volunteer”, or “as time allows”, but rather as an important formal assignment. Each Library Representative will meet the expectations and responsibilities outlined in this document, and will confirm these obligations through the completion of an online form.

Expectations and Responsibilities

The Library Representative must:

  • Facilitate/manage communication to and for the PASCAL member library staff.
  • Coordinate with their member library area experts, IT personnel, and other stakeholders to understand impacts and implications for matters requiring local decisions.
  • Facilitate/manage communication of local decisions to the SLSP collaborative management architecture, as necessary.
  • Participate in the Library Representatives listserv and other communication methods on behalf of their library.
  • Attend SLSP meetings, workshops, and webinars relevant to completing their duties as a Representative.

The Library Representative could:

  • Participate in any or all of the Working Groups listservs.
  • Serve on a Working Group.
  • Chair a Working Group and serve on the Implementation & Management Team.
  • Serve on SLSP Steering Committee.

Specific expectations and responsibilities for the Library Representative may vary depending on the size of the institution and the availability of staff and resources. For example, a large institution may have a committee of library area experts to review the proposed policies, procedures, and workflows which require local decisions. This committee would then provide feedback to the Library Representative. Alternatively, a small institution, may just need the Library Representative to seek feedback from one staff member for local decisions. The specifics of seeking input for local decisions will be left to the discretion of the PASCAL member library.

If the Representative also serves on a Working Group, Implementation & Management Team, or Steering Committee, they need to understand that in those roles, they will be representing the SLSP first and their institution second. However, when they are doing the work of the Library Representative, they are doing so with their institution’s best interests in mind.

Communication Methods
 

Library Representatives will participate in relevant SLSP communication channels such as email, listservs, webinars, surveys, workshops, etc. Communication is a significant responsibility of the Library Representative, so the expectations directly related to communication are outlined below.

Communication within their library:

  • Provide SLSP updates as appropriate to their library via e-mail, local staff meetings, etc.
  • Coordinate with their member library area experts, IT personnel, and other stakeholders to understand impacts and implications for matters requiring local decisions.
  • Vet final decisions with relevant library area experts, the library dean/director, and other stakeholders as appropriate, before communicating decisions to the SLSP collaborative management architecture.
  • Serve as a local resource for information related to the implementation and management of the SLSP.

Communication with PASCAL’s SLSP collaborative management architecture:

  • Review and participate in the communication channels targeted to the Library Representatives.
  • Read the PASCAL newsletters, correspondence, and other communications specifically related to the SLSP.
  • Communicate with the PASCAL SLSP Coordinator at their discretion.
  • Communicate local decisions related to policies, procedures, and workflows to the SLSP collaborative management architecture, as necessary.

Decision Making

Library Representatives will coordinate with local area experts, IT personnel, and stakeholders to understand the impacts and implications for matters requiring local decisions. This may involve sharing draft versions of policies, procedures, workflows, and other documentation requiring local input, and systematically collecting and consolidating feedback. Library Representatives are then responsible for communicating this feedback to PASCAL through designated communication channels. In addition to feedback, the Library Representative may be asked to convey whether the local institution will or will not support the proposed policy, procedure, workflow, etc. In the cases where an institutional decision is required, the Representative should survey all local experts/stakeholders, communicate with their library dean/director as appropriate, and convey the decision along with any relevant feedback that impacted the decision to the SLSP collaborative management architecture.

If a PASCAL member library supports a proposed policy, procedure, or workflow, the Library Representative will convey the decision and any additional feedback to the relevant Working Group.

If a PASCAL member library does not support a proposed policy, procedure, or workflow, the Representative will convey the decision and the reason they cannot support the decision to the relevant Working Group. The Representative will also convey their recommendations for changes that would enable them to support the decision.

If a PASCAL member library cannot agree on whether to support the proposed policy, procedure, or workflow, the Representative will convey the feedback and input (both for and against the decision) to the relevant Working Group.

If a Library Representative does not communicate their decision to the relevant Working Group within the designated timeframe for feedback, the Working Group will interpret this silence as support for the proposed policy, procedure, or workflow.

Training

New Library Representatives and any alternate(s) will be required to attend in-person and/or online training with PASCAL staff. This training will convey responsibilities, expectations, workflows, and decision-making parameters. The Representatives will also be set up and trained on any relevant communication methods such as listservs, conferencing software, etc. PASCAL will also provide in-person and/or online training and support to existing Library Representatives as required.

Disclaimer

This document is subject to review and change. Revisions of the document will be distributed to PASCAL member libraries through established communication channels.

Directory of Library Representatives

Member Library First Last Email
Aiken Technical College Katie Miller millerku@atc.edu
Allen University Carol Bowers cbowers@allenuniversity.edu
Anderson University Kent Millwood kmillwood@andersonuniversity.edu
Benedict College Darlene Zinnerman-Bethea bethead@benedict.edu
Bob Jones University Nancy McGuire ncmcguir@bju.edu
Central Carolina Technical College Denise Robinson robinsondk@cctech.edu
Charleston Southern University Eileen Lutzow elutzow@csuniv.edu
Claflin University Marilyn Gibbs Drayton mgibbsdrayton@claflin.edu
Clemson University Christopher Vinson vinsonc@clemson.edu
Coastal Carolina University Jennifer    Hughes jhughes@coastal.edu
Coker College Todd Rix trix@coker.edu
College of Charleston Heather    Gilbert Gilberthj@cofc.edu
Columbia College Jane Tuttle jtuttle@columbiasc.edu
Converse College Wade Woodward Wade.Woodward@converse.edu
Denmark Technical College Carolyn Fortson fortsonc@denmarktech.edu
Erskine College John Kennerly kennerly@erskine.edu
Florence-Darlington Technical College Jeronell Bradley Jeronell.Bradley@fdtc.edu
Francis Marion University Nathan    Flowers nflowers@fmarion.edu
Furman University Christy Allen christy.allen@furman.edu
Greenville Technical College Jan Daniel Jan.Daniel@gvltec.edu
Horry-Georgetown Technical College Jennifer Wilbanks Jennifer.Wilbanks@hgtc.edu
Lander University Jim Laman jlaman@lander.edu
Limestone College Lizah Ismail iismail@limestone.edu
Medical University of South Carolina Jean Gudenas gudenas@musc.edu
Midlands Technical College Florence Mays maysf@midlandstech.edu
Morris College Margaret Mukooza mmukooza@morris.edu
Newberry College Reid Austin reid.austin@newberry.edu
North Greenville University Carla McMahan cmcmahan@ngu.edu
Northeastern Technical College Ron Stafford rstafford@netc.edu
Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College Haley Hall hallht@octech.edu
Piedmont Technical College Meredith Daniel daniel.m@ptc.edu
Presbyterian College Betsy Byrd eebyrd@presby.edu
South Carolina State University Ruth Hodges rhodges@scsu.edu
Southern Wesleyan University Joni Addis jaddis@swu.edu
Spartanburg Community College Katherine Stiwinter stiwinterk@sccsc.edu
Spartanburg Methodist College Lori Hetrick HetrickL@smsc.edu
Technical College of the Lowcountry Sasha Bishop sbishop@tcl.edu
The Citadel Lakisha Smalls smallsl1@citadel.edu
Tri-County Technical College Mary Orem morem@tctc.edu
Trident Technical College Charnette Singleton Charnette.Singleton@tridenttech.edu
University of South Carolina - Aiken Robert Amerson RAmerson@usca.edu
University of South Carolina - Beaufort Melanie Hanes-Ramos hanesml@uscb.edu
University of South Carolina - Columbia Beki    Gettys gettys@mailbox.sc.edu
University of South Carolina - Lancaster Kaetrena    Kendrick  KAETRENA@mailbox.sc.edu
University of South Carolina - Salkehatchie Dan Johnson johns943@mailbox.sc.edu
University of South Carolina - Sumter Constance Pender penderc@uscsumter.edu
University of South Carolina - Union Taylor Atkinson tatkinson@unionlibrary.org
University of South Carolina - Upstate Kevin Shehan kshehan@uscupstate.edu
University of South Carolina School of Law Cornelius Pereira CPEREIRA@law.sc.edu
University of South Carolina School of Medicine Victor  Jenkinson victor.jenkinson@uscmed.sc.edu
Voorhees College Monica Johnson mjohnson@voorhees.edu
Williamsburg Technical College Brandolyn Love loveb@wiltech.edu
Winthrop University Mark Herring herringm@winthrop.edu
Wofford College Kevin Reynolds reynoldsjk@wofford.edu
York Technical College Erinnae Cline ECline@yorktech.edu
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 | Columbia, SC 29201 | 803.734.0900 | office@pascalsc.org | Support
The Statewide Electronic Library for Higher Education is coordinated by PASCAL, its members and other partners.
Funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly, PASCAL member libraries, and grants.
© 2018 Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries